Hawaii is located in Polynesia, 2,000 miles away from the mainland U.S. It’s the only state outside North America and the only one that’s an archipelago. It’s a land of active volcanoes, pristine beaches, and abundant flora and fauna. The Polynesians were the first to arrive on the islands using only the stars as their guide while navigating the ocean.

In 1778, Captain James Cook landed on the island of Kauai. He was the first European to make contact with the islands, naming the archipelago the “Sandwich Islands” in honor of John Montagu, the 4th Earl of Sandwich. Only much later on would it be collectively called Hawaii, after its biggest island. Cook published several accounts of his voyages, which attracted other European and American visitors such as traders, other explorers, and whalers.

In 1795, all inhabited islands came under one ruler. King Kamehameha the Great established the House of Kamehameha, a dynasty that would rule for many years. The Kingdom of Hawaii was autonomous from 1810 to 1893 when it was overthrown by American and European landholders who had settled in the islands. They lived as an independent republic until August 12, 1898, when it was officially made a territory of the U.S.

Today, Hawaii boasts of a multicultural mix of people. It has the highest percentage of Asian Americans and the lowest number of White Americans of any state. Chinese, Filipinos, Puerto Ricans, and Japanese are just some of the races that call this lovely island home.

According to nationaltoday.com. Source of photo: internet