The origins of curling date back to the 16th century in Scotland, where the game was played on frozen lochs and ponds. Scottish immigrants brought the game with them to North America, where it quickly spread across the northern United States and Canada. Settlers began curling on the frozen Milwaukee River in the early 1840’s and officially formed the Milwaukee Curling Club (MCC) in 1845.

The modern game of curling evolved rapidly during the 1900’s, aided in large part by the move indoors through the use of refrigerated ice. MCC relocated to Riverside Park in 1915, where two covered sheets of ice provided a fixed home for the next 55 years.  In 1970, the club built a four-sheet curling shed and clubhouse located at Ozaukee Country Club in Mequon, Wisconsin.  Beginning with the 2012 season, the club moved into a state-of-the-art 5-sheet facility located at the Ozaukee County fairgrounds in Cedarburg.

The Milwaukee Curling Club is now located at the Ozaukee County fairgrounds in Cedarburg, where curling continues to be played. Curling organizations exist in Racine, Kettle Moraine, Wauwatosa, and Milwaukee. The 2016-2017 USWCA president, Carol Stevenson, is from the Kettle Moraine Curling Club.

According to; Source of photos: internet